This day

My heart is heavy.  I am unspeakably sad.

There has been no “event” that touched me directly.  There have been storms and rain, and floods.  Some have lost so much, but I have not.  Yet, I am sad – for them.

The world is a place of hate and turmoil now. Senseless killings, by evil people – some not so evil but simply ignorant – but killings, nonetheless. And I am sad.

There is little decorum now.  Mores, rules, traditions seem to be lost.  Casual and careless, are the norm.  Children are disrespectful, demanding, preoccupied with devices, not busy with imagination.  Innocence and purity are rare. We know too much, yet we know so little.  Private matters are not private.  It makes me sad.

Leaders do not lead.  So many do not stand for what is noble or  honorable – so many are crude, blustering, bullying, dishonest, and hateful- equally on one side or the other.  It makes me sad.

I watch as women I love slowly, slowly fade. I see friendships separated by miles and infirmity.  So many are ravaged by age and a disease that robs them of memories – of themselves.   I watch as millions of dollars are flashed at one who can throw a ball.  Yet this disease could be cured wtih more funding.  I watch as someone who was once strong and alive, struggles to be herself, but the body and mind become stiff and twisted and blurry – so that who she really is, or was, seems so often to be out of reach.   It makes me sad.

I struggle with the loss of strong, loving, people who gave my life color and history and a sense of being part of something solid and good.  I struggle with missing someone who left me quickly.  I wrestle with guilt at thinking there would be more time so I lost precious time and sharing.   I fight the guilt that I should reach out to others who loved him but I lose that fight. I cannot face them yet. I have no comfort to give them right now.   It makes me sad.

I am blessed.  I still have others to love and who love me.  I have young lives and warm wiggly bodies to hug, to watch in their childish glees as they experience the joy of ponies and dump trucks and ice cream.  I should look forward with light, not wallow in dark.

And I will try.  I will pray.  I will push on.  But, this day, I am unspeakably sad.

2 thoughts on “This day

  1. Mary

    I love u Jane. I feel much the same. Trudging on with heavy burdens and grief. Trying to embrace my blessings.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

